Adventures in Peace (Corps)

My Home Away From Home

I won’t speak on behalf of all volunteers in Azerbaijan, but I think I can say with confidence that most of us aren’t roughing it like some volunteers do around the world. Hot water, gas, electricity, and internet are only some of the conveniences that I am afforded as a PCV. Of course, roughing it is all relative, and my standard of living is different here than it would be if I were living in Los Angeles, but even still, I feel like I’m living quite well. Come, see for yourselves as I give you a tour of my home.

19 responses

  1. Lori

    Wow! That was terrific! Thanks for the tour. Other than the porcelin hole in the ground, it looks manageable. Oh the things we take for granted. Miss you.

    July 27, 2011 at 9:34 pm

    • Yeah, the porcelain hole kinda sucks, but it could be worse. I’ve been to homes in the villages where people do their business squatting over a hole made of wood planks that aren’t very sturdy. I’ve often thought, “can this plank take my weight or am I going to fall through?” The worst part of squatting over any hole is peeing on your feet (especially in the winter when I’m wearing thick wool socks) and the summer flies. The flies are really gross, but there’s nothing to do about them so you just go in and get out as quick as possible. No magazine reading that’s for sure.

      July 27, 2011 at 9:46 pm

  2. I am amazed that you can actually just talk freely for 15 minutes without hesitating about anything. It was such a beautiful tour. I love seeing that and how you live. The rooms are huge, the sky was BLUUUUUEEE and you are looking beautiful. So happy you posted that.
    Thanks

    July 28, 2011 at 1:23 am

    • Selly, you’re amazed that I can talk for 15 minutes without hesitating? You obviously need to spend more time with me my friend! Miss you Sell, let’s chat soon. xo

      July 28, 2011 at 1:43 am

  3. stacey

    The best part was seeing YOU at the end. Ya, I bet other pcv’s would be jelous of your digs. It is amazing how you can do so much with so little. Miss you!!

    July 28, 2011 at 10:03 am

  4. Josh

    Hi Glendene,
    Wow, that is amazing. It seems very basic but you also seem very grateful.
    Contentment/dissatisfaction is really in the head no? As a friend of mine says, misery (if it is there) rises to the level of the means to satisfy it. It helps explain why so many well-off people can be so so unhappy.

    Anyway, thanks for sharing and keep the posts coming.

    July 28, 2011 at 10:25 am

    • It really is in the head. Of course, knowing that my life here is temporary also makes living with the basics tolerable. Even living on a mere $300 a month has become normal for me. Imagine living a contented life in Los Angeles on $300 a month? Impossible, there’s too many good restaurants to eat at! Hope all is well Josh. Always nice to hear from you.

      xo, Denie

      July 28, 2011 at 10:15 pm

  5. Sharlene Basch

    Denie, Beanie,

    Pretty fancy digs you’re living in. Your videoing is excellent. A very good job as usual.
    I feel like I was taken on a tour of your home, there, but not there.

    As for the hole in the ground called a toilet, YUK. in order for you not to get your feet wet you need a better aim and a wider stance. In the winter it must be quite a feat of dexterity to accomplish your goal or goals.

    What’s so good about your blog is, it shows how other people in the world live. Your house in AZ. is probably a palace compared to some living spaces in the world. In the U.S., I’m sure there are still people who live without creature comforts. Most of us don’t, so, this is a real eye opener.

    Keep these great blogs coming.

    Love and miss you,

    Mom

    July 28, 2011 at 11:08 am

    • I now understand why people have bathroom anxiety when they travel. It could be traumatizing if you think about it too much.

      July 28, 2011 at 10:20 pm

  6. Tamara

    I’ve broken a refrigerator in the manner you’ve described once so I can see how that could happen. Thanks so much for the posting this video to show us a glimpse of your world. So so good to hear about your adventure and hear a bit about what it’s like to be you. Do you have a mailing address there? Cheers! Tamara

    July 28, 2011 at 9:51 pm

    • Hi Tam, nice to hear from you. Glad you enjoyed the vid. Yes, I have an address and I love to receive mail. Thanks my dear. I hope all is well. xo

      Glendene Wolf
      Peace Corps Volunteer
      Xachmaz Central Post Office
      Xachmaz, Azerbaijan 2700
      Mobile: 051 912 80 54

      July 28, 2011 at 10:22 pm

  7. betsy

    Sorry about the fridge but I lvoed the tour. thanks so much. Take care and keep blogging. Betsy

    July 29, 2011 at 12:08 pm

  8. Bets! So nice to hear from you my dear. I hope all is well and life is beautiful. No worries about the fridge. The new one, though used, is much better. xoxo

    August 4, 2011 at 2:05 am

    • Dear Glendene,

      It really puts a lot into perspective to see your home away from home. Excellent video and your tour was great. So, a few questions for you, dahlink…whose toothbrush is that outside? Why not shower in the bucket as I do sometimes here?? Would you send me the granola recipe??? And have you sent this fantastic PCV Third Goal piece to the website yet???? Love from me to you there and thanks for teaching me all about your place there along with a few new words in Ajerbaijani!!! Natalie

      August 4, 2011 at 6:36 am

      • Nataile! Nice to hear from you. Are you State side or Romania side? The toothbrush is mine. Sometimes I forget to bring it inside. Why shower in a bucket when I have a whole closet I can shower in? The granola recipe is easy…just oats and some molasses. Not as good as granola with butter, but a healthier option. I have not sent the video to the PC. I didn’t even think about it, but now I will. thanks for touching base my friend. I hope all is well and you are enjoying your vacation. Much love, Glendene

        August 4, 2011 at 7:41 am

  9. GREAT TOUR!! my favorite part is the home made yoga block covered in duct tape! LOL!!! and, I, for one, am not at all surprised you can talk for 15 min. w/o stopping… in fact, i have feeling you’re gonna be talking for 3 WEEKS w/o stopping very soon!! hahahaha! love you! can’t wait to see you!
    me

    August 4, 2011 at 5:48 pm

  10. Buit then Chris, when will you get a chance to talk?

    August 7, 2011 at 9:03 pm

  11. Sally

    WOW!!! thanks for sharing where you live … your home away from home. Amazing how you’ve adapted and accepted your non-LA-way-of-life … it reminds me a lot of my friend from LA who moved to Punjab, India and how life is so very different … more time to connect with one’s everyday-ness because things are not-so modern … your water tank alone would send me over the moon!!! we take so much for granted and I am just so impressed … love your personal space and love your yoga block! am still practicing Iyengar yoga these days and staying in touch with my ego-less side. Everyone on the 10th floor in Century City sends their love – Mrs. Nazarian especially … she wanted me to send her regards … she just had her first solo exhibition that I project managed (February-May) … check out her new website: sorayasarahnazarian.com MISS U … namaste, dear Glendene.

    August 25, 2011 at 10:37 pm

Leave a Reply

